More than 1 million Kentuckians in 87 Kentucky counties depend on East Kentucky Power Cooperative (EKPC) and its 16 owner-member cooperatives for safe, reliable, affordable electric power. EKPC is owned by 16 electric distribution co-ops located in Central and Eastern Kentucky.

EKPC’s role is to provide electric power to its owner-members through the operation of four major power plants totaling nearly 3,000 megawatts in capacity and the more than 2,800 miles of high-voltage transmission lines.  EKPC has provided this service for more than 70 years.

Together, EKPC and its 16 owner-member cooperatives are known as Kentucky’s Touchstone Energy Cooperatives.

EKPC System Map